Please check back for updates.

Chapter Contacts

Chris Bird

Assistant Director
Taylor Rieck

From the latest CURRENTS

We are rocking and rolling over here in the Matagorda Bays Chapter; with one event down for the year, we have two more to go!

Our 2022 upcoming events include: Chapter Banquet and Boat Raffle – June 30 and the Jim Ehman Memorial Guides Cup – Sept. 26-27

The 16th Annual Lil’ Salties Kidfish was a great success once again. A total of 150 kids and their parents participated in the catch, photograph, and release event. The kids enjoyed a day full of fishing where they caught a multitude of fish species, battled in the casting contest, and ate a good meal cooked by the chapter board members. The Matagorda Bays CCA board and chapter members would like to show our appreciation to this year’s Lil’ Salties sponsors:

$500 Corporate Sponsors

Coastal Bend Oilman’s Fishing Tournament, Gulf Coast Lease Service LLC, First State Bank of Louise, Earl & Deanna Calkins, E.A. Collins & Sons, Prasek’s Smokehouse, Multi Fab Metals, Seaman’s Plumbing LLC, Greenpoint Ag Holdings, LLC, Unlce Ervin’s Premium Texas Jerky, Reef Hopper, and Chris’s Marine.

$200 Sponsors

Prosperity Bank, Rice Belt Warehouse Inc., Ermis Vacuum Service, LLC, El Campo Monuments, Texas Coast Limousine Services, LLC, Hlavinka Equipment Company, Crowell Drilling Company. Inc., NewFirst National Bank, El Campo Sheet Metal, LLC, The Family of Doris Clifton, Rod Insurance Group, El Rancho De Los Patos, Novak Diesel Services LLC, Mike & Melisa Prasek, South Texas Oil & Distributing, Inc., Dr. Melissa Kainer – Erwin, First Financial Bank, Matagorda Harbor Bait & Tackle, R&R Printing, Aqua Beverage, Shot Spot, Cooper Turf Farms, and Energy Construction.

Other Sponsors

Rice Farmers Co-Op, Inc., Superior Motor Parts of El Campo, Hailey Welding Services, and Svatek Vending.

(2022 Lil’ Salties Kidfish was a success)

Our “Ice Blue” 2022 Haynie Magnum 25 built at Chris’s Marine and Haynie Boats is out and about at local businesses on display.  Thank you to our 2022 boat sponsors: Capital Farm Credit, Del Papa Distributing Company, and Sutton Wealth Management. We will be drawing the lucky raffle winner on June 30 via Facebook live, at our annual chapter banquet. If you like attending a good party every now and then…mark your calendars and don’t miss it! You can purchase boat raffle tickets by contacting any of our board members or at these local businesses: Prasek’s Family Smokehouse, Matagorda Harbor Bait & Tackle, Chris’ Marine, Superior Motor Parts, The Shot Spot, Hoffer’s Auto, Johnny’s Sport Shop, Star Parts, Rice Farmers Co-Op & Mr. Tire (El Campo & Bay City), United AG General Store, VonDerAu Ford, and Wayne’s Bait Camp.

(2022 CCA Matagorda Bays raffle Boat)

We have numerous table sponsorships available for this year’s banquet and if you would like more information about these sponsorship opportunities, please contact us or visit the CCA Matagorda Bays chapter webpage.

Matagorda Bays CCA Banquet Table Sponsor Levels: GOLD – $1,800, SILVER – $1,400, BULL RED – $800. Please check out our Facebook page and chapter webpage on the CCA Texas website for all boat raffle and banquet updates. If you have any questions, concerns, or comments please don’t hesitate to contact us at any time.


President: Chris Bird
Vice President: Jason Beery
Secretary: JP Appling
Treasurer: Blake Barger
Banquet Chairman: JP Pope

Boat Raffle



Tables and Tickets No Longer Available


The tournament was held on May 8, 2021. Thank you to all that came out and showed their support! Stay tuned for 2022 details.